Day 4 – Learning Android Development

Today I did a bit of everything: design, sound and coding. I followed TheNewBoston again, this time videos 11-19. I’m really happy by the way he teaches and I feel I’m learning things at a good pace.

I started out by creating a title design in Photoshop for the app I created yesterday, which i call “+- 1”. Note that most of the code for this app is copied from TheNewBoston’s tutorial, the rest of it is code I’ve added myself or are tweaks from his code. The design is all mine.

Image
Title actitvity
Image
Main Activity

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The title comes out whenever you start the app (onCreate phase). It lasts 1.5 seconds and then the main activity comes out. You can’t go back to the title activity once you pass it. This is intended as you don’t want the user to go back to the title when he presses the return key. It’s done by putting finish() at the onStop() method, this finishes the class once the activity is not visible.

I redid the layout of the main activity as well as you can see its now a dark grey gradient background and bone colored font. Plus I added sound to the buttons once you press them. For the sound I used Sunvox.

I started on arrays that will make it easier to switch from activities but I will continue on that tomorrow.

The Java is progressing more and more. I haven’t looked at additional resources for it and just by looking at the android tutorials I’ve been able to relate most of it to Python as I learned OOP from there. Creating classes, inheritance, methods, attributes, invoking methods, etc. I’ve been able to handle correctly most of it and I’m getting to know the relatively harder syntax (Python’s syntax is way more simple). But there’s sometimes I don’t get what he’s coding. Maybe I will follow some of his tutorial videos on Java programming.

Leave a comment