Day 22 – Learning Android Development

Click here for the latest version of the game. Remember, left-arrow key to jump and right-arrow key to blast. Beware, it’s extremely hard right now because I was testing how far Steel can jump (3 chopped trees is the max) and the insects have gotten harder to kill. If you make it to where there is no ground beneath you anymore, consider it a win. I have yet to implement a finish.

I know this is an android dev blog post. I am testing it on the android as well so don’t worry.   Android is my primary target, but for implementing things I first test them all on the desktop version because it compiles way faster. I have only released the desktop version out on this blog because I plan on putting a price on the android version. Probably somewhere around €0.60, but I’ll release the final version on the PC as well and for free if you don’t feel like paying for the mobile version.

First thing I added today, or rather removed, is the range the sunblast can go. Now the sunblast can only go 7 units ahead of Steel before dissappearing ( if sunblast.position().x – steel.position().x >= 7). This was implemented to prevent you from firing like crazy in the beginning so that the blasts reach and kill the insects way before you actually get to them.

I also added some improvements to the world (read: made it harder). Everything’s faster now, blocks move at a speed of 6 units per second instead of 4, and insects at a speed of 4. That means insects will be going backwards a bit while patrolling up and down so it’s harder to evade them.

I also implemented a second background, I’m not really sure about it. It does give the game some more depth, but at the same time I feel the colors are a bit distracting. I probably will make it more grayish to avoid that.

Leave a comment