Day 21 – Learning Android Development

Today was rather productive, or at least that’s how I feel. I came up with the obstacles for the game. The first obstacle is a chopped tree, which must be jumped over.

 

 

The second obstacle is a robot insect which flies up and down.

 

 

With that I got the obstacles designed so far for the first level of the game. Let me get into some of the story. The game will be called “Steel’s Run”. Steel is trying to rid the world from robots who have recently started showing up, and the only way he can do that is by using the same technology which created those robots (his helm). With the helm, he gains some powers, the first one that I created is called sunblast. A blast of concentrated electromagnetic energy.

 

 

The first level is out in the open. That’s were Steel’s adventure begins, with the insect-robots and chopped trees, further levels will be getting close to the place the robots are coming from, and will be getting harder.

I’m planning on polishing the first level and the graphics up a bit more as well as the gameplay, and that will be my release for my 30 day android development goal. After that I will continue with the second level whenever I have time, because I’m starting my master this monday.

Right now Steel can shoot as much as he wants, but I’m planning on putting a kind of stamina bar which limits the amount of sunblasts you can shoot, while waiting for the helmet to harness energy to create more. Also the level is very repetitive right now because I haven’t done any level design, only for testing mechanics.

I did collission detection for sunblasts and trees, sunblasts and robot-insects, trees and Steel and finally Steel and the robot-insects. Robot insects die out of one sunblast.

Here’s a playable pc-version of the game so far. Use the left-arrow key to jump and the right-arrow key to fire. It has no end so when you stop seeing grass under Steel, close the program 🙂 (you need the Java Runtime Environment for the game to work).

Leave a comment