Day 23 – Learning Android Development

HERE is the latest version as of today of Steel’s Run. Remember, left arrow to jump and right arrow to shoot. I changed the level’s layout of obstacles (robot insects and chopped trees), making it less monotone and less harder than yesterday. The level is not yet complete, I’d say its around 33% complete, so if you manage to get where there’s no obstacles you have won, but remember that you only did 33% of what’s to come :). also the game still has no ending so stop when there’s no obstacles anymore.

Here’s the layout of the level so far. green dots are grass, red dots are insect robots and brown dots are chopped trees.

I changed the insect’s speed back to the same as the grass’. It makes it easier to design the level. They still patrol up and down. I also changed the trees’ color to a more pale tone, that way you no longer get distracted by them

What I would like to add is a percentage on the top right corner which indicates how far you got. Say you died half way, it will said 50% complete. That way you can brag to your friends!

What do you think of my game? or my progress overall? Please leave me a comment! I would like nothing more than to hear your constructive criticism or feedback.

Off-topic

For some reason, I got a lot of traffic to my blog today. After some investigation I saw that around 20 people (of which I presume most are tweet-bots) tweeted my blog post of yesterday. No idea why, maybe they just snatched it randomly out of Hacker News as some of them had a variant of HN in their twitter names. Still, lots of traffic compared to the other days! see for yourself.

 

Leave a comment